FA Grassroots Football Winners Receive Awards

Local heroes receive recognition

Saturday 21st October 2018 saw the FA Grassroots Football Awards sponsored by McDonald’s ceremony take place at Swindon Town Football Club.

The day saw 8 winners & highly commended clubs & individuals arrive at the County Ground ahead of the first team fixture with Mansfield Town. The group were treated to a tour of the County Ground on a match day before heading pitch side for a photo with Town’s number 5 Sid Nelson.

The group were then served a 3 course meal and presented to everyone in the sponsors lounge by host for the day ex Town player Phil King.

At 2.30pm the group made their way down pitch side where the formal presentations took place with Town players Jordan Edwards & Joe Romanski alongside Wiltshire County FA Chairman Clive Archer, Board Member Colin Kennerson & Council Member Craig Gorton.

The following clubs and individuals were recognised:

  • Keir Doherty of Salisbury Rovers FC – Young Volunteer of the Year

  • Salisbury Rovers FC – Charter Standard Club of the Year

  • Geoff Bonner of FC Salisbury United – Coach  of the Year

  • Martin Young of Ashton Keynes Youth – Highly Commended Coach of the Year

  • Julie Bowler of JBFC – Volunteer of the Year

  • Paul Surridge of Stratton Juniors FC – Highly Commended Volunteer of the Year

  • Ella Broad – Referee of the Year

  • Royal Wootton Bassett Town FC Community Football Sessions – Community Project of the Year

A huge thank you to all the winners, highly commended, nominees & all of the many volunteers in Wiltshire that makes our game happen. Without everyone football in Wiltshire would not affect so many lives.