grassroots football awards

The FA and McDonald's Grassroots Football Awards 2020

The FA and McDonald’s Grassroots Football Awards are for people who make a positive difference. It’s our way to celebrate the fantastic individuals who put their heart and soul into the grassroots game across England – and say a huge thank you to the incredible volunteers who inspire us all.

How the awards work

These awards are to recognise and reward the people, clubs and leagues that deliver grassroots football throughout the country. The awards are split into categories, and County FAs select a local winner for each from the public’s nominations. These form a shortlist for our national winners, selected by a national judging panel.

How to make nominations

Individuals are nominated by someone else (not themselves), while anyone involved in a club or league can nominate their own club and/or league.

The categories 

Grassroots Coach of the Year (Adult Team)

Grassroots Coach of the Year (Youth Team)

Grounds Team of the Year

Grassroots Club of the Year

Grassroots League of the Year

Grassroots Volunteer of the Year

Rising Star of the Year

We Only Do Positive Respect Award

Grassroots Match Official of the Year

Grassroots Project of the Year

The Bobby Moore Award - This is the 11th category that we use to take the opportunity to celebrate one of the winners from across the 10 national winners – a winner that exemplifies the true spirit of grassroots football in England. This is the prestigious Bobby Moore Award, and the winner is chosen by our national panel.

Nominate today