GRA 2020



Nominations for The FA and McDonald’s Grassroots Football Awards have drawn to a close with over 45 submitted to Wiltshire FA in 2020.

For over 10 years, the awards have recognised and celebrated leagues, clubs, coaches, players, match officials and volunteers that go over and above when it comes to football in their local community.

County FAs across the country have received 4,761 nominations in 2020, which is a record number and represents a 14% increase from the total in 2019, and are now in the process of selecting regional winners in the following 10 categories:

  • Grassroots Coach of the Year (Adult Team);
  • Grassroots Coach of the Year (Youth Team);
  • Project of the Year;
  • Rising Star of the Year;
  • Grassroots Volunteer of the Year;
  • Grassroots Match Official of the Year;
  • Grassroots League of the Year;
  • Grassroots Club of the Year;
  • Grounds Team of the Year;
  • We Only Do Positive Respect Award.

Regional winners will be announced by their respective County FA from 23 June 2020 and go on to be considered for both a national version of their award and the prestigious Bobby Moore award by a bespoke panel on 2 July 2020.  

With the support of Wiltshire based accountants, Charlton Baker, this year Wiltshire FA have been able to introduce additional awards in the Grassroots Football Excellence Awards to recognise and thank more clubs, leagues, volunteers and projects that are making a difference to grassroots football in Wiltshire.

Although the nomination window has closed for the FA and McDonalds Grassroots Awards there is still time to nominate a grassroots hero in the Wiltshire FA and Charlton Baker Awards. Wiltshire FA is encouraging the football network to recognise those individuals who continually strive to inspire the next generation, whether they are on the pitch or behind the scenes, who are all playing their part in delivering football and creating a legacy in the game.

The categories still open for nominations are:

  • Ability Counts Excellence Award
  • Outstanding Personal Achievement Award
  • Inclusive Football and Community Involvement Award
  • Progression Award
  • Wildcats Centre of the Year

Nominate your grassroots hero now.